The Great Malaysian Road Trip (July/August 2020)


Malaysia has 13 states and 3 federal territories, and up until July 2020 we had visited 10 states (Johor, Kedah, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Penang, Perak, Sabah, Sarawak, and Selangor) and 2 federal territories (Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya). Given that we cannot currently travel outside of Malaysia, we decided to embark on an extensive road trip focussing on the northern states of Peninsula Malaysia (visiting Terengganu, Kelantan and Perlis), with the intention of learning more about their history. So now we have visited everywhere in Malaysia except for the federal territory of Labuan in East Malaysia. Everywhere is a slight exaggeration though, because although we have hit the major tourist destinations and sites of archeological and historical interest, there is still much more to be discovered.

In order to share this adventure with others, we set up a FaceBook page ( called Malaysian Travels where we posted daily videos of our 22-day, 2878 kilometre journey, and you can see them by clicking here. I have also embedded the videos into the individual web pages, although Lawrence’s numbering system does not always match mine!

Often there are more photos than can be easily put into a webpage, so I have prepared slide shows as videos, which you can find on our Malaysian Travels Facebook page.

Lawrence will also be writing about the historical significance of the various places we visited, and these accounts can be accessed by clicking on

You can directly access each page by clicking on the thumbnails or the subheadings below.

If you have any questions/comments, please contact me using this form:

Click here to return to Travels in Malaysia 2020

Click here to return to Helen Gray’s homepage.

© Helen Gray 2021